I saw this link today about Chinese factory workers and the toys they make and it blows my mind.

Really, the world, with all it’s eccentricities and the paradox of the universe’s mass and timelessness vs life’s preciousness and fragility has really been mind fucking me. But that’s a rant for another day.

Back to this link. The photographs are portraits done by artist Michael Wolf.

This is truly an alien world to me with my cushy job, my back yard and feather pillows. But I, or you, could have just as easily been born in China to the mother of one of these workers. I will admit, each hand made toy in this portfolio is a work of art to me. Even with my social situation and all my schooling I don’t have the skills to put a plastic arm on a fabric doll body.

 

Click images for larger versions.

szyrh

wLYAQ

1U5ea

c2Wwe

hkpQI

SkuLE

l6sc4

3EUnf